At the Polls

Early voting is open for 2024's primary election

We’re broaching a significant election season, with local, state, and federal offices on the ballot. Early voting already is underway for Vanderburgh County’s primary election on Tuesday, May 7, which will determine the candidates who will advance to the 2024 general election on Tuesday, Nov. 5.

Indiana offers opportunities to vote early in person or by mail, along with open precinct voting on Election Day (meaning voters don’t have to report to any one certain voting center). The Indiana Voters Portal allows residents to check their voter status as well to look up exactly which candidates are on their precinct’s ballot. Indiana allows voters to select the party’s ballot, Republican or Democrat, they’d like to complete.

Who’s On the Ballot
A highly anticipated race on the ballot is for the three-person Vanderburgh County Commission. In District 3, Republican incumbent Cheryl Musgrave is being challenged by recently retired United Way CEO Amy Canterbury, while Hope Fussner is unopposed in the Democratic primary.

Earlier this year, a Vanderburgh County Democratic Party caucus chose Mike Goebel to complete former District 1 Commissioner Ben Shoulders’ term. Goebel, a longtime teacher and coach at Mater Dei High School, had been serving on the Vanderburgh County Council. Goebel now is running unopposed for a full term as county commissioner. There are no Republicans on the District 1 ballot for county commission.

The third seat is held by District 2 Commissioner Justin Elpers, a Republican who won election in 2022 and retains his seat through 2026.

Six people — Democrats Bob Deig, Karese Johnson, and Dustin Stephens, and Republicans Ed Bassemier, Jill Hahn, and Joe Kiefer II — are running for at-large seats on Vanderburgh County Council, the fiscal arm of local government. Neither party’s primary is contested; all six candidates advance to the general election, where the top three will win.

Other local races include for county recorder, coroner, clerk, treasurer, and surveyor.

At the state level, area voters will select a new Hoosier governor and choose who will represent them in the state Senate and House. In the national primary, voters will weigh in on races for U.S. Senate, House of Representatives Eighth District, and president.

Find a full list of candidates on the May 2024 primary ballot at the bottom of this article.

Absentee Mail-In Voting
The deadline for filing an application for an absentee ballot was April 25. Those who expect to be confined due to illness or injury, or who expect to be caring for a confined person on Election Day, or voters with disabilities who believe their polling place is not accessible to them may be eligible to vote absentee by travel board.

Early In-Person Voting Centers
Early voting (also known as “absentee in person voting”) for the 2024 primary elections is available through noon Monday, May 6. In-person voters must have already registered by April 9 and bring a current government-issued photo ID to the voting center. Be advised: Early voting locations and hours are quite different from prior primary elections, with Evansville Vanderburgh Public Library’s Central Branch taking the place of Old National Events Plaza for near-daily voting.

9 a.m.-5 p.m. Monday-Friday April 9-May 3; 9 a.m.-5 p.m. April 27 and May 4; 9 a.m.-noon May 6
• EVPL Central, 200 S.E. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.

Noon-6 p.m. Monday-Thursday April 22-May 2; noon-5 p.m. Friday April 26 and May 3
• Washington Square Mall, 4801 Washington Ave.
• EVPL North Park, 960 Koehler Drive
• EVPL Oaklyn, 3001 Oaklyn Drive
• EVPL Red Bank, 120 S. Red Bank Road

8 a.m.-3 p.m. April 27 and May 4
• Northeast Park Baptist Church, 1215 N. Boeke Road
• Cedar Hall Elementary School, 2100 N. Fulton Ave.

Election Day Voting Centers
All 16 voting centers for the 2024 Evansville primary election are open 6 a.m.-6 p.m. on Tuesday, May 7.
• Academy for Innovative Studies (AIS),2319 Stringtown Road
• Bethel United Church of Christ, 3029 N. Green River Road
• Bethlehem United Church of Christ, 6400 Oak Hill Road
• Blue Grass Church, 14200 Petersburgh Road
• Calvary Temple Assembly of God, 5050 N. First Ave.
• Caze Elementary School, 2013 S. Green River Road
• Cedar Hall Elementary School, 2100 N. Fulton Ave.
• Fairlawn United Methodist Church, 2001 Parker Drive
• Glenwood Leadership Academy, 901 Sweetser Ave.
• McCutchanville Fire House, 9219 Petersburg Road
• Memorial Baptist Church, 605 Canal St.
• Methodist Temple, 2109 Lincoln Ave.
• Northeast Park Baptist Church, 1215 N. Boeke Road
• Plaza Park School, 7301 Lincoln Ave.
• Saint James West United Methodist Church, 3111 Hillcrest Terrace
• Saint Lucas United Church of Christ, 33 W. Virginia St.
• Saint Paul United Church of Christ, 8701 Big Cynthiana Road
• Simpson United Methodist Church, 2201 W. Illinois St.
• Southern Indiana Career & Technical Center, 1901 Lynch Road
• Vanderburgh 4-H Fairgrounds Activities Building, 210 E. Boonville New Harmony Road
• Washington Square Mall, 4801 Washington Ave.
• West Side Christian Church, 1200 N. Red Bank Road

For further information, contact the Vanderburgh County Election office by calling 812-435-5122 or emailing

Here is a full list of who is on the May 7 primary election ballot. Asterisks denote incumbent officeholders.

Vanderburgh County Commissioner District 1
Democrat Mike Goebel*

Vanderburgh County Commissioner District 3
Democrat Hope Fussner
Republican Amy Canterbury
Republican Cheryl Musgrave*

Vanderburgh County Council At-Large
Democrat Bob Deig
Democrat Karese Johnson
Democrat Dustin Stephens
Republican Ed Basssemier
Republican Jill Hahn*
Republican Joe Kiefer II

County Recorder
Democrat Gina Robinson Ungar
Republican Russell Lloyd Jr.

County Coroner
Democrat Keith Mosby Jr.
Republican Bryan Underwood

County Clerk
Republican Dottie Thomas

County Treasurer
Republican Brian Gerth

County Surveyor
Republican Linda Freeman*

Indiana Governor
Republican Mike Braun
Republican Brad Chambers
Republican Suzanne Crouch
Republican Eric Doden
Republican Curtis Hill
Republican Jamie Reitenour
Democrat Jennifer McCormick

Indiana Senate, District 50
Republican Vaneta Becker*

Indiana House, District 64
Republican Matt Hostettler*
Republican Dale Mallory

Indiana House, District 76
Republican Wendy McNamara*

Indiana House, District 77
Democrat Alex Burton

Indiana House, District 78
Republican Tim O’Brien*

U.S. Representative, Eighth District
Democrat Erik Hurt
Democrat Peter F.H. Priest II
Democrat Edward Upton Sein
Democrat Michael Talarzyk
Republican Jim Case
Republican Jeremy Heath
Republican John Hostettler
Republican Dominick Kavanaugh
Republican Mark Messmer
Republican Luke Misner
Republican Richard Moss
Republican Kristi Risk

U.S. Senator from Indiana
Democrat Marc Carmichael
Democrat Valerie McCray
Republican Jim Banks
Republican John Rust

President of the United States
Democrat Joe Biden*
Republican Nikki Haley (suspended her campaign March 6 but collected enough signatures to appear on Indiana’s ballot)
Republican Donald Trump

Previous article
Next article
Jodi Keen
Jodi Keen
Jodi Keen is the managing editor of Evansville Living and Evansville Business magazines.

Related Articles

Latest Articles