Visitors to the 16th Evansville Philharmonic Guild Homes of Note Tour will have the unique opportunity to view one of the newly renovated Lockmaster Cottages overlooking Old Lock and Dam Park and the Ohio River in Newburgh, Ind. The cottage, pictured above, is one of five Newburgh homes included on the tour set for Saturday, April 26, from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.
The cottages were built in 1928 to house the lockmaster and assistant lockmaster at Lock & Dam #47, which operated until the Newburgh Locks and Dam were completed in 1975. Last year, the Newburgh Town Council and Parks Board renovated the cottages. They now are available for overnight stays.
Other homes on the tour include 214 W. Water St., 200 E. Jennings, 409 E. Jennings, and 212 W. Main St.
Diane Wessel has been the Homes of Note co-chairwoman for the last four years and a Guild supporter since 2001, and she expects about 500 people will view the homes.
“We are especially excited to feature a unique, classic car, courtesy of Newburgh resident Jim Moore, in the driveway of each of the homes,” Wessel says. “It will really draw in the men who are touring with us.”
Free parking is available at Newburgh Elementary School, where a shuttle service will transport guests to the homes. Ticket holders may also drive to each home.
Tickets for the tour are available for $15 at the Evansville Philharmonic office (located in the Walker Building at 401 S.E. 6th St.) area Schnucks stores, Wildflower Boutique, Paul’s Menswear, House of White Bridal Boutique, and each home the day of the tour for $20.
For more information on the Homes of Note Tour, see our Guide.