Decision Time

Your guide to the 2023 municipal election

Editor’s Note: This article was updated Oct. 13, 2023, for the Evansville municipal election.

The City of Evansville’s 2023 municipal general election is Tuesday, Nov. 7, and early in-person voting began Oct. 11. (If you haven’t registered to vote, the deadline has already passed.) Only city residents can vote in this election, which will reshape the city’s administration via a new mayor and, potentially, new council members.

Indiana offers opportunities to vote early in person or by mail, along with open precinct voting on Election Day (meaning voters don’t have to report to any one certain voting center). The Indiana Voters Portal allows residents to check their voter status as well to look up exactly which candidates are on their precinct’s ballot. Voters’ next stop should be the Vanderburgh County Election Office, which list important absentee application deadlines and voting center locations and hours.

On the Ballot

City residents will vote for a new mayor — and, notably, most of the candidates are women. On the ballot are Libertarian Michael Daugherty, Republican Natalie Rascher, and Democrat Stephanie Terry. Read Evansville Business’s Q&A with the candidates.

Several Evansville City Council members are being challenged, including Ward 1 Democrat Ben Trockman by Republican Joshua Edwards, Ward 2 Democrat Missy Mosby by Republican Maytes Rivera, and Ward 3 Democrat Zac Heronemus by Republican Joe Kratochvil. Ward 4 Democrat Alex Burton, Ward 5 Republican Angela Koehler Lindsey, and Ward 6 Democrat Jim Brinkmeyer are running unopposed.

Six people are vying for three City Council At-Large seats, including Democrat Mary Allen, Republican Ed Bassemier, Republican incumbent Ron Beane, Democrat Paul Green, Democrat Courtney Johnson, and Republican incumbent Jonathan Weaver.

Evansville City Clerk Laura Windhorst, a Democrat, is unopposed.

Absentee Mail-In Voting

Absentee voting for Evansville residents who are not able to vote in person early or on Election Day is divided into several categories, with a general deadline of Thursday, Oct. 26, for completed absentee ballot applications to be received and approved by the Election Office. Completed. Absentee mail-in ballots must be postmarked by a USPS or affiliated facility by noon Monday, Nov. 6.

Early In-Person Voting Centers

Early voting (also known as “absentee in person voting”) for the 2023 Evansville city primary election is available through noon Monday, Nov. 6. In-person voters must have already registered and bring a current government-issued photo ID to the voting center. Be advised: Evansville Vanderburgh Public Library’s Central Branch takes the place of Old National Events Plaza for near-daily voting in this election.

9 a.m.-5 p.m. Monday-Friday Oct. 11-Nov. 3; 9 a.m.-5 p.m. Oct. 28 and Nov. 4; 9 a.m.-noon Nov. 6:
• EVPL Central, 200 S.E. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.

Noon-6 p.m. Oct. 23-Nov. 2; noon-5 p.m. Oct. 27 and Nov. 3:
• Washington Square Mall, 4801 Washington Ave.
• EVPL North Park, 960 Koehler Drive
• EVPL Oaklyn, 3001 Oaklyn Drive
• EVPL Red Bank, 120 S. Red Bank Road

8 a.m.-3 p.m. Oct. 28 and Nov. 4:
• Northeast Park Baptist Church, 1215 N. Boeke Road
• Cedar Hall School, 2100 N. Fulton Ave.

Election Day Voting Centers

All 16 voting centers for the 2023 Evansville primary election are open 6 a.m.-6 p.m. on Tuesday, Nov. 7.
• Academy for Innovative Studies (AIS), 2319 Stringtown Road
• Bethel United Church of Christ, 3029 N. Green River Road
• Calvary Temple Assembly of God, 5050 N. First Ave.
• Caze Elementary School, 2013 S. Green River Road
• Cedar Hall Elementary School, 2100 N. Fulton Ave.
• Fairlawn United Methodist Church, 2001 Parker Drive
• Glenwood Leadership Academy, 901 Sweetser Ave.
• Memorial Baptist Church, 605 Canal St.
• Methodist Temple, 2109 Lincoln Ave.
• Northeast Park Baptist Church, 1215 N. Boeke Road
• Plaza Park School, 7301 Lincoln Ave.
• St. James West United Methodist Church, 3111 Hillcrest Terrace
• St. Lucas United Church of Christ, 33 W. Virginia St.
• Simpson United Methodist Church, 2201 W. Illinois St.
• Southern Indiana Career & Technical Center, 1901 Lynch Road
• Washington Square Mall, 4801 Washington Ave.

For more information, contact the Vanderburgh County Election Office by calling 812-435-5122 or emailing

Jodi Keen
Jodi Keen
Jodi Keen is the managing editor of Evansville Living and Evansville Business magazines.

Related Articles

Latest Articles